logo nano spa 1
  • Cabecera 1
    nanoscience and nanotechnology: small is different

Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) consists of 10-15 internationally renowned researchers; the members are chosen and approved by the Board of Trustees with the requirements that they are working in fields related to Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. They play an essential role in selecting the staff of the Institute, controlling their promotion and approving the scientific strategic plan of the Institute presented by the Director. The SAC pre-selects the scientific candidates to join the Institute and evaluates their performance, as well as the Research Programmes and the Institute as a whole. The SAC also makes a formal independent evaluation of the center that is a main tool in the strategic development of the Institute.

Scientific Advisory Committee

Current members of the Scientific Advisory Committee:

  • Chairman: Prof. Ivan Schuller - Center for Advanced Nanoscience, University of California-San Diego, USA
  • Prof. Héctor Abruña - Department of Chemistry & Chemical Biology, Baker Laboratory, Cornell University, USA 
  • Prof. Miquel Salmerón - Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Prof. Harald Brune - Ecole Polytechnique Féderale de Lausanne (EPFL). Switzerland
  • Prof. Luis Echegoyen - University of Texas at El Paso, USAProf. Johannes Barth - Department of Physics, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • Prof. Maurizio Prato - Dipartimento di Science Farmaceutiche. Universita di Trieste, Italy
  • Prof. Rasmita Raval - Department of Chemistry. University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Gerber - Department of Physics, University of Basel. Switzerland
  • Prof. Yvan Bruynserade - Department of Physics and Astronomy, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Prof. Dr. Johannes Barth, Department of Physics, Technische Universität München, Germany